Day 18: Latkes

18 12 2009

Crispy Latkes with Sour Cream, Stovetop Applesauce and oven roasted Lady Washington Apples

 

I was reading a great blog discussing the merits (and demerits) of different potato types for latkes over at Kitchenhacker’s blog (http://www.kitchenhacker.net). I felt inspired to make some as they looked delicious. I recommend popping over and checking out the article (http://kitchenhacker.net/content/latke-battle-russet-versus-yukon-gold). He covers all the issues regarding potato types nicely. The recipe and ideas are also nicely done. The basic recipe I use is listed below. Whatever you start with, feel free to vary as you see fit, there are literally hundreds of versions-as long as it tastes good to you; it’s right.

Latkes

  • 2 lbs potatoes, grated
  • 3/4 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1 shallot, halved and sliced
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp garlic, chopped finely
  • 2 tbsp rice flour
  • 1 tbsp AP flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp fresh cracked black pepper
  • Oil for frying
    Grate the potatoes and set aside in some cold water. Combine all the other ingredients. Drain the potatoes, and squeeze to get the water out. I take batches and place them in a tea towel or dish rag. Twist the ends to wring the potatoes and let the water drain. Add the potatoes to the mix. Heat neutral oil (like canola) in a pan over medium heat. Take a handful of the mixture, squeeze out any additional liquid you can and place into the pan. Fry until GB&D on one side, flip and finish on the other. Serve with sour cream and apple sauce (easy stove top apple sauce recipe to follow)

Stove top Applesauce

  • ¼ cup orange juice
  • 2 apples, cored, peeled and sliced
  • 1/3 cup organic or natural sugar
  • 1 ½ tbsp cinnamon

Combine all ingredients and simmer over the stove until apples soft and the liquid has reduced, about 30-45 minutes. Apples are high in pectin and will naturally thicken.

A side, a meal, either way delicious

Actions

Information

5 responses

18 12 2009
Chef E

Hey Doc when does the slow boat leave for SA? Funny you would ask me about NOLA, but I am from Texas, and we would go to New Orleans each summer, and I followed Emeril when he first hit the air waves, I have the recipe in a cookbook and can email it to you…

elizabeth@cookappeal.com

I also have a recipe for the baby lady smiths above I think you would like, but I will post it first then give you the recipe…I used to make Latkes before I knew what they were out of a cookbook from 1980, Fit For Life, made like I see on blogs now… I just always felt they were a fancy hash brown, lol, yours look nice and crunchy like I like them! I remember when I taught my mom how to soak them in water before hitting the oil in the pan, she realized how much time it save in the frying pan, not even a cast iron skillet can save overcrowded potatoes right!

18 12 2009
whatscookingwithdoc

Thanks Chef!
We leave Saturday and it’s been a scramble to rebook everything b/c of the impending BA strike (originally scheduled to leave during what is now strike time). Also cooking ahead so we can finish the 21 days…I’ll have intermittent email so anytime you can email the recipe it’d be great. The latke/hashbrown thing is a riot, we had that same debate earlier in the week after seeing it on The Daily Show. You are so right! Overcrowding the pan dooms any hope for crispiness:-O
-Doc

18 12 2009
Cajun Chef Ryan

Now I have made potato pancakes, but never have done the Latkes. These really look good too, almost like a nest!

19 12 2009
whatscookingwithdoc

@cajunchefryan: Thanks, I am not sure how they’re different from hasbrowns….
@chowandchatter: I like them crispy, but there’s a creamy potato bite in the center as well….
@cavemancooking: Not yet-finished 21 day vegetarian menu then we’ll be blogging from the road!

18 12 2009
Rebecca

oh they look so good and crispy

Leave a Reply

