New Twist on an Old Classic

8 03 2010

Sesame Tempura Tuna with Veggies and Dipping Sauce

I am still working on that incredible tuna loin and needed to finish it with a bang. A classic  like  sesame crusted tuna seemed to be the answer. Yet, the sesame crusted tuna has become almost a commonplace menu item. It doesn’t mean it is not tasty, but I needed a new twist. We took the basic tempura batter and added 3 Tbs of black sesame seeds. A little Asian Dipping Sauce and add some tempura veggies-perfect! Bite size sesame crusted tuna nuggets of goodness.

Actions

Information

10 responses

8 03 2010
Chef E

I just did a whole seafood weekend, and now I am thinking I have to do a tuna meal! I keep lemon pepper tuna around for my lunch sammies, but this is making them seem so dreary!

8 03 2010
whatscookingwithdoc

Yes we all need the surf and turf boogie!!

8 03 2010
doggybloggy

the “pearls” are made from pomegranate juice and the orange ones are grapefruit juice that has been heated with agar agar and then dropped into cold olive oil to make the drops solidify….

9 03 2010
whatscookingwithdoc

Thanks DB-Still using up the POM juice?

9 03 2010
tasteofbeirut

Interesting blog! My bro is an interventional cardiologist too, practices his skills in San Fransisco and he also has a blog, on cardiology, however!
I am learning interesting titbits from your posts. Thanks!

9 03 2010
whatscookingwithdoc

What’s his blog-I’d love to check it out. Love SF, one of my, if not my, favorite places to visit. GLad you are enjoying!

9 03 2010
Rebecca

wow looks amazing just starting to use black sesame seeds more

9 03 2010
whatscookingwithdoc

Yummy AND good for ya!

9 03 2010
Cajun Chef Ryan

Great series on your fresh tuna Doc! Thanks

9 03 2010
whatscookingwithdoc

Awesome fresh seafood off the boat here in Florida. What’s fresh in your neck of the woods, Chef?

Leave a Reply

