Round 1: Oven Roasted Tomatoes with “Pasta” and Fire Roasted Tomato Sauce

29 03 2010

 

Seafood Grille over "Pasta" with Oven Roasted Tomatoes and Fire Roasted Tomato Sauce

Here was a critical component of the first dish; Mixed Seafood Grill of Fresh Gulf Shrimp, Sea Scallops and Maine Lobster accompanied by “Pasta” with Fire Roasted Tomato Sauce. The “pasta” is actually just veggies. Today we’ll cover the “pasta” which makes a very nice side dish anytime. The fire roasted tomato sauce is that awesome version we posted about a week ago from Chef Ryan at http://cajunchefryan.rymocs.com/blog2/recipes/fire-roasted-tomato-sauce/.

  • 3 each, medium size, carrot, yellow squash, zucchini
  • 1 pint grape tomatoes
  • Chef Ryan’s Fire Roasted Tomato Sauce
  • Parmesan, shaved and parsley, chopped for garnish

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Place the tomatoes in a roasting pan and gently douse with olive oil, salt and pepper. Bake for 30-45 minutes. Meanwhile, cut the vegetables Julienne style. Heat some salted water to a boil and prepare an ice bath. Blanch the vegetables for about 15 seconds in the water, then immerse in the ice bath to stop any further cooking (you can do this step ahead of time). Heat some olive oil in a sauté pan.  Add the vegetables and quickly heat with the sauce. Remove and top with garnish.  Tomorrow we will cover the seafood grille and relish.


Actions

Information

5 responses

29 03 2010
Mulina

I love the “veggie” pasta recipe!

29 03 2010
whatscookingwithdoc

Thanks-I think you will like. I just ate leftovers for lunch!

29 03 2010
partnersinwineclub

I like using the fire roasted tomatoes if I cannot smoke or fire roast my own on the grill! I was making ‘Fire Shrimp’ tonight, but hubby picked up a free loader in NYC on Saturday I believe, and is down for the night…oh well, I will stare at your photo and drool all by myself, hey where is a Doc when you need him, lol!

Lookin good there…

Chef E
http://cookappeal.blogspot.com/

29 03 2010
whatscookingwithdoc

Thanks Chef,
BTW have you ever tried the Vern. San Gig. (It’s a DOCG area)? I’d love your thoughts. It’s inexpensive but drinks, to me, between a pinoy grigio and Sauvignon blanc

30 03 2010
partnersinwineclub

You know we just opened a bottle of that the other day with some Shrimp I cooked in a kimchi butter I got in NYC! Adrienne came over while hubby was out of town and was eyeing our cellar, I have to watch her!

Leave a comment