Shellfish Foie Gras-Tons

22 04 2010

Revenge in a golden crispy package

I hate crab rangoons. Not real crab rangoons, but the pale facsimile that passes for what should be a real treat. I mean, holy empty piñata Batman, there’s nothing inside but cream cheese (and maybe some faux crab). It is especially troubling to me because back in the day at my first job where I ran the kitchen, we made real rangoons. Real crab from the Chesapeake, some seasonings, chopped veggies and  a little cream cheese wrapped in a wonton and  crispy fried to perfection. For years I have suffered disappointment after disappointment when dining out, leaving me with more unfulfilled broken promises than Amy Winehouse’s rehab counselor. Sure I made the rangoons we made in the restaurant for my own pleasure, but I craved more, expected more when I went out to eat. Well to all you fake rangoon purveyors and fanciers, Foie off. If revenge is a dish, it is best served over the top and in your face. So with that I give you, with no apologies, wonton stuffed with  lobster, scallop, shrimp and foie gras topped with a drizzle of truffle oil and shaved parmesan. The key here is fresh ingredients; look at the mise en place picture-everything was dripping seawater, then again it might have just been drool….

  • 1 lobster tail from ~ 1.5 pound lobster, chopped roughly ~ inch ¼ bits 
  • 3-4 large sea scallops, chopped roughly~ inch ¼ bits
  • 3-4 large shrimp, chopped roughly~ inch ¼ bits
  • 1 ½ teaspoons fresh thyme, finely chopped
  • Juice of 1 ½ lemons
  • Salt
  • Fresh ground pepper
  • 2 slices of foie gras torchon cut into roughly ¼ inch cubes
  • Wonton wrappers
  • 1 egg beaten + 1tsp water
  • Oil for deep frying
  • Truffle oil
  • Grated parmesan for garnish

 

Fresh...fresh...

Segregate each type of shellfish in a bowl and add to each bowl ½ tsp thyme, pinch of salt, turn of fresh ground pepper and juice of ½ lemon. Allow to rest for 1-2 hours. Pre-heat the oil to 350 degrees F. Place a wonton wrapper in front of you so it has a diamond shape. Place a piece of each type of shellfish and a piece of the foie gras in the center. Fold the won-ton over and seal the edges by moistening with the egg. Using your dominant hand, place your index finger palm up so the tip of the finger is at the tip of the triangle. Pull the ends of the triangle over your index finger. Seal the ends together with the egg wash and remove your finger. Repeat until all the wontons are assembled. Place in the oil at 350 degress F and fry until golden brown. Remove, season and top with the truffle oil and grated parmesan  (I know, I know-cheese with shellfish-trust me with the truffle oil it works).

and Foie

Actions

Information

5 responses

22 04 2010
doggybloggy

what? no caviar? no white or black truffle? well these look “ok” any way…LOL

23 04 2010
whatscookingwithdoc

DB: At least there was truffle oil ;->

22 04 2010
rebeccasubbiah

oh wow what a creative recipe wheres mine!!

23 04 2010
whatscookingwithdoc

C&C:Always have some saved just for you!

23 04 2010
partnersinwineclub

Ha! At first glance I thought I saw a bug, well at least a crawdaddy bug, lol, man oh man I am missing out with hubby out of town…look out budget I am going off the rocker with my Saturday meal when he returns! 🙂

Chef E

Leave a Reply

