Bubba Grunt

22 07 2010

  [tweetmeme source=”WCWD” only_single=false]

Sometimes going to the fishmonger is like a box a chocolates, you never know what you’re going to get. So I have to give a shout out to my friends at Whitney’s, who have graciously kept me supplied with fresh, delicious and local seafood since my first foray into the sunshine state. They have also kept me apprised of the BP oil spill’s impact on species and supplies. I can’t reiterate this enough, but if you find a local fishmonger, especially one like I have, that supports the local industry, then please support them. I know getting some Chinese pre-frozen at the mega mart is easier, but easier is oft not better.

OK, off the soapbox and into the kitchen. Today I found some good southern grunt, or as I like to call them, Bubba Grunt. There about ~150 different kind of grunt with most being a reef fish. They get their name from the audible grunting noise people make whilst eating the tender light flesh. Not really, it’s from the sound you can hear them make underwater but it makes a nice story. Anyway, we prepared this to be grilled by making a couple of scores in the side of the whole, cleaned fish. We then inserted some fresh Florida oranges, stuffed the interior with fennel and cilantro and after a little olive oil splash, salted and peppered. Grill until done and enjoy. It is a really healthy dish that will make you fit. And it is delicious, in fact it is fitlicious. I often make up words like that, “My Momma told me I was special….”

  • Whole Grunt (1-2 per person depending on size, they can run small)
  • 1 orange
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • ½ bunch cilantro
  • 1/3 cup chopped (roughly) fennel bulb

Make several scores on each side of the whole fish. Stuff the interior with cilantro and fennel. Slice the orange and place into the scores. Lightly drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper. Grill until done.

Actions

Information

6 responses

22 07 2010
Tweets that mention Bubba Grunt « What's Cookin' with Doc: The Rx Pad -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Doc, Doc. Doc said: Bubba Grunt: http://wp.me/pBDeE-FH […]

23 07 2010
Suse

Whitney’s rocks! That being said, that’s one scary looking fish. Dang.

23 07 2010
whatscookingwithdoc

@Suse: They are awesome! Scary but delicious!!

23 07 2010
cavemancooking

Doc, why is it that after reading your posts i always want to jump on a plane to Florida and show up at your door just in time for dinner?!? This looks and sounds amazing, my friend!

23 07 2010
whatscookingwithdoc

@Caveman: you are welcome anytime! Come on down and catch some fish-the Gulf is open!
@C&C: Thx Rebecca-you, too! BTW, Tea is delish & brinks back memories of sitting looking at the Turkish rugs…aaahhhh:-)

27 07 2010
tasteofbeirut

wow! The first shot was scary! I thought I was going to eat a bat for a sec; need to try this fennel imperative, I think!

Leave a Reply

